top of page
Search
  • Jennie Mercado

Starry Starry Right

"Star light, star bright, the first star I see tonight, I wish I may, I wish I might, have the wish I wish tonight"

Star light, star bright is a popular nursery rhyme linking stars to wishes. It was once foretold that wishing on a shooting star (or falling star) will grant your heart's desire. Others think that having a sight of the first star of the night brings luck unto them. And us, having a culture rich in superstition and folklore, fancy so much about these beliefs.


Figuratively, stars are being associated to our dreams, ambitions, our life goals. Similar to those heavenly bodies shinning in the night sky, found up and above the clouds, our dreams too may seem be unreachable. We want to conquer the world thus we try to elevate our objectives and set our goals so high. Living in an impossible dream, they may say. Others may even consider giving up because they find it hard to accomplish their intentions. Hard work and determination however, fuels us to reach for the stars.


Spiritually, God created us to be stars. They say once your soul departs from your human body, your spirit will join the other stars in heaven, so eventually we will all be turned into celestial bodies someday. In the bible remember that when our Emmanuel was born, the three wise men were guided by the biggest and brightest star in Bethlehem. Innumerable as they may seen, stars are like the Divine Almighty's love... infinite... immeasurable...


Personally, I believe we are already stars, in our own little ways. Shinning through our unique talents and skills. Guiding those who are lost along the way, we tend to be the light of others who sees darkness. Shimmering fully when we're in love. Sparkling as we fulfill our goals through the ornaments of wealth and money. But are we all shinning? Are we all in our fullest light? Are we all that visible in the night?


Not everyone as stars emits their brightest light. Some stars may in fact look dull and gloomy. Resembling those stars, we tend to think that our aspirations are unattainable. We may even think we're unlucky, cursed or unfortunate as compared to those beaming in luminosity. But then, I firmly believe that we will all shine when it is our time to shine. Boring as your light may seem today, we may never know what the future holds. Tomorrow or the day after, we might release the most dazzling and blazing light ever. Mind you, Mark Zuckerberg of facebook introduced his name to the world at 23, while Colonel Sanders of KFC was made famous at age 62.


Dedicated to those struggling for work, still dreaming of opportunities, hoping for a better life, and just starting their endeavor, please hold on to your dreams. Focus on your goals. Keep on going and always move forward. You will shine on your brightest in God's perfect time. You'll be able to reach the stars when the time is right. Starry starry right...

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

you hate me bcoz???

hate me because??? -jm you hate me because you are threatened of me you hate me just by seeing me instantly you hate me because you are jealous of me you hate me because i do things you thought unnec

bottom of page