top of page
Search
  • Jennie Mercado

PSORing (soaring) high... PSORrowing (sorrowing) low...

Updated: Oct 31, 2020




Hundreds of red spots appeared on my legs a decade ago. Then all of a sudden, they were all over my body. The doctor explained what these tiny red spots were and right there and then I was broken-hearted. I was in misery. Having a knowledge of what psoriasis was, I was both in pain and in sorrow. In me is an illness that not even the best doctor in the world could heal.


Years past and I learned to live with psoriasis. Itchiness and pain... two words that would best describe my everyday living as a psor patient. It's a cycle though. There were days when you feel like thousands of mosquitoes indulged themselves and plunged their proboscis inside my skin leaving a burning itch sensation. There were, on alternate days when you feel like your skin is like a dry land, rough, cracking and aching. Mind you, there are days when you feel both at the very same time.


There are no known causes of this illness. This is the very reason why until now, there are no medications to cure psoriasis. I mean, honestly you can never solve a problem if you don't even know how the problem occurred right? there are however trigger factors that may cause severity of the disease. Among them all, stress... is the best... This current situation of ours, this covid pandemic, contributed a lot of psychological stress to us patients. Frankly psoriasis and psychological factors work side by side. You have psoriasis, you may feel depressed. You feel depressed, your psoriasis maybe triggered. As simple as that our lives really are complicated...


In the picture above, you can see the a white spot where surrounded by shades of red. Would you believe that that certain spot is the only normal skin I have and the rest where affected by psoriasis. Fast forward to 2020, I am now a 90 percent covered patient. Though I know it's tough, acceptance is both an option and a decision. An option where you have no other choice but decide to accept.


As you can see in the picture, an irregular shape (left pic) of normal skin surrounded by flaky rough skin. Captured straight on my psoriasis in my belly part. The second pic however is the same spot, but captured on my angle. In my viewpoint, all I can see is a heart. Because amidst the hardship of having an illness comes true love from my family and friends...

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

you hate me bcoz???

hate me because??? -jm you hate me because you are threatened of me you hate me just by seeing me instantly you hate me because you are jealous of me you hate me because i do things you thought unnec

bottom of page